Governance: An international journal of policy, administration and institutions

Archive for the ‘Levine Book Prize’ Category

Call for nominations: 2014 Levine Prize

Governance invites nominations for the 2014 Levine Book Prize.  Nominations should be made by 31 March 2014.  Please send a copy of the book to all three members of the committee.  The winner will be announced in the October 2014 issue of GovernanceLearn more about the Prize, and obtain addresses for the 2014 Prize Committee members.

Written by governancejournal

October 14, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Posted in Levine Book Prize

2013 Levine Prize announced

VogelJuly 17, 2013 – The Levine Prize for books published in 2012 has been awarded to The Politics of Precaution: Regulating Health, Safety, and Environmental Risks in Europe and the United States (Princeton University Press, 2012), by David Vogel Vogel is a professor in Political Science and the Haas School of Business at the University of California, Berkeley.

This year’s prize committee was composed of Professors Daniel Béland (University of Saskatchewan, Chair), Agnes Batory (Central European University), and Sung Deuk Hahm (Korea University).

The committee says: “In recent decades, the politics of risk regulation has played a growing role all round the world. In his carefully crafted and compelling book The Politics of Precaution: Regulating Health, Safety, and Environmental Risks in Europe and the United States (Princeton University Press, 2012), David Vogel explores the changing transatlantic policy divergence in risk regulation. Dealing with an impressive number of issues, ranging from food safety and agriculture to air pollution, consumer safety and chemicals and hazardous substances, this well-written and policy-relevant book formulates an original framework to explain the regulatory and perception gap between Europe and United States.

“This historically-minded book also covers more than a half century of policy development, from the late 1950s to the present, a period during which the United States lost its status of regulatory leader at the expense of the European Union, where the precautionary principle has become prevalent. This is a convincing and illuminating book on a broad topic that students of risk regulation, environmental policy, and comparative public policy should find most helpful. The Award Committee is pleased to select this excellent book as the 2013 recipient of the Levine Award.”

BusellThe prize committee also gives special recognition to Corruption and Reform in India: Public Services in the Digital Age (Cambridge University Press, 2012), by Jennifer Bussell.  Bussell is an assistant professor in Political Science and the Goldman School of Public Policy at the University of California, Berkeley.

The committee says: “This book masterfully draws on both qualitative and quantitative methods to explore the implementation of state-level, IT-based service centers in India. The book convincingly shows how the nature of corruption in each Indian state interacts with political patterns to produce particular policy outcomes.  It is a must-read for students of corruption.”

Written by governancejournal

July 17, 2013 at 1:00 am

Posted in Levine Book Prize

Call for nominations: 2013 Levine Book Prize

Governance is now calling for nominations for the 2013 Charles H. Levine Memorial Book Prize.  More details about previous winners are here.  The 2013 Prize Committee comprises Professors Daniel Beland (Chair), Sung Deuk Hahm, and Agnes Batory.  Download details on how to nominate books for the prize.  The deadline for nominations is April 30, 2013.

Written by governancejournal

February 25, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Posted in Levine Book Prize

Committee seeks nominations for 2013 Levine Book Prize

The committee that will select the 2013 Levine Book Prize has been appointed and is seeking nominations for the prize.  The committee is chaired by Daniel Béland of the University of Saskatchewan and also includes Sung Deuk Hahm of Korea University and Agnes Batory of the Central European University.  The prize is given to outstanding comparative works in public policy and administration. Download the notice about the 2013 award committee.  The 2012 award was given to Alan Jacobs for his book Governing For The Long TermRead about the 2012 award.

Written by governancejournal

September 17, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Posted in Levine Book Prize

Jacobs wins 2012 Levine Prize

Jacobs book The 2012 Levine Book Prize has been awarded to Governing for the Long Term: Democracy and the Politics of Investment (Cambridge University Press, 2011), by Alan M. Jacobs.  Jacobs is an associate professor of political science at the University of British Columbia.  The 2012 Levine Prize committee was composed of Professors Kutsal Yesilkagit (Utrecht School of Governance, committee chair), Eliza Lee (University of Hong Kong), and Victor Lapuente (University of Gothenburg).  The committee says that Jacobs’ book “should force us to rethink the usual political economy assumptions of politicians as short-sighted re-election seekers. . . . The book provides a trenchant reminder of the power of ideas about the future to shape decisions taken today.”  Read more about the Prize and the committee’s decision.

Written by governancejournal

July 31, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Posted in Levine Book Prize

Governance announces 2010 Levine Book Prize

The 2010 Levine Book Prize has been awarded to Bringing in the Future: Strategies for Farsightedness and Sustainability in Developing Countries (University of Chicago Press, 2009), by William Ascher.  Ascher is the Donald C. McKenna Professor of Government and Economics at Claremont McKenna College.  Special recognition is also given to books by Allison Stanger of Middlebury College, and Walter Mattli and Ngaire Woods of the University of Oxford.  More details about the 2010 Levine Book Prize are available here.  The 2010 Levine Prize Committee was comprised of Mirko Noordegraaf, Utrecht School of Governance (Chair);  Susan Phillips, Carleton University; and Anthony B.L. Cheung, Hong Kong Institute of Education.

Written by governancejournal

July 8, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Posted in Levine Book Prize


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers